I don't qualify for any aid?

Financial Aid Questions and Answers : Where do I begin? Answers to your Financial Aid Questions!

Moderator: Financial Aid Guru

I don't qualify for any aid?

Postby splash79 » Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:22 am

Hello! I was wondering if someone could clue me in on why I may not qualify for any financial aid, according to an EFC estimator I found on studentaid.gov. When I was younger, I attended college and filled out the FAFSA, so I'm familiar with the process. My situation has changed since then, so that's partially why I'm thrown by what I've come across. Here's a quick rundown on me and my situation.

I am now a non-traditionally aged student, who is married and has no children. I am currently attending classes at a community college and have managed to pay my tuition without financial help, but hope to transfer to a 4 year school in the spring. I have not filled out a FAFSA yet, just used the calculator to figure my EFC.

Based on my information, my EFC is almost $15,000 and I (basically) don't qualify for aid. It did say that I may be elibigle for a unsubsidized Stafford loan "based on recent legislation". Tuition for the school I'm wanting to attend will be around $10,000 a year, so less than my EFC. There is absolutely no way I can afford that amount of tuition out of pocket. I am currently unemployed and we are barely getting by on my husband's income.

So, based on this limited amount of information, does it sound like I did the calculator correctly? And where can I find information about this "recent legislation"?
splash79
New

Re: I don't qualify for any aid?

Postby FAO_Jona » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:18 am

Splash,