Citibank Student Loans......

Talk about various private student loans and how they can assist you.

Moderator: Financial Aid Guru

Citibank Student Loans......

Postby swimlaxj » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:36 pm

I attended a private university from 2000- 2004. Each year I needed financial assistance I would speak with the schools financial aid office and Citibank was the chosen loan company; they pushed this type of loan, said payments would be manageable when I graduate and everything would be fine and dandy. I came out of school with $60,000 in debt (4 separate loans within Citibank) since I graduated I have maintained employment but have had some rough spells where I needed to place my account in forbearance/ deferment- interest accrued like crazy I would assume. I have been paying on the loan, I have paid $28,000 and my balance still remains $61,000. My statements reads I am paying $300 on principal and $130 in interest but my principal is NOT going down by $300 each month. When I called Citibank to inquire about this they stated I am paying strictly interest and nothing will come off the principal unless I double up on payments. I received a notice a few weeks ago that my min payments each month were going to be $800- I can NOT afford that and Citibank is NOT willing to work with me at all, they have stated I am on the graduated payment plan and it’s my fault I took such a large loan. I am sinking and I need help. This loan has stopped me from getting approved for a mortgage :( I don’t know what else to do…..can you please send me in the right direction!
swimlaxj
New

Re: Citibank Student Loans......

Postby ejacobs » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:40 pm

Is this for federal loans or private student loans? Citi used to do both...

If it is for federal loans, I recommend that you consolidate them through the Direct Loan program and select a repayment plan such as Income Based Repayment.