Columbia University Loan vs. Graduate PLUS Loan

Talk about various private student loans and how they can assist you.

Moderator: Financial Aid Guru

Columbia University Loan vs. Graduate PLUS Loan

Postby bodhica » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi all! I'm a graduate student at Columbia University. I’m writing because I’ve become eligible for a loan from Columbia University, which I can take instead of a Graduate PLUS loan. I wonder if, given the conditions of the loan listed below, you think it would be wise to take the Columbia University loan (the main attraction being a 5% fixed rate) or the Graduate PLUS loan:

2. INTEREST. Interest shall accrue from the beginning of the repayment period specified in paragraph 3 at the ANNUAL PERCENTAGE RATE
OF FIVE PERCENT 5%) on the unpaid balance, except that no interest shall accrue during any period described in paragraph 4.
3. PAYMENTS. The principal amount of this Note shall be repaid, with interest, in equal monthly installments during a repayment period
beginning the first day of the sixth calendar month following the date I cease to be eligible for a deferment as provided in section (a) or (b) of
paragraph 4. In the event that I shall become entitled to a deferment as provided in paragraph 4 after the repayment period has begun, the
repayment period shall resume on the date my entitlement to a deferment shall cease. Commencing one month following the beginning of the
repayment period, principal payments shall be made in 120 equal monthly installments on the first day of each month, together with interest on the
outstanding balance, except that if repayment in 120 installments would result in payments, including interest, of less than $30 per month, payments
shall be at the rate of $30 per month.
4. DEFERMENT. Interest will not accrue, and installments need not be paid, (a) during periods in which I am enrolled at Columbia University