No-credit/cosigner loans?

Talk about various private student loans and how they can assist you.

Moderator: Financial Aid Guru

No-credit/cosigner loans?

Postby catilineconspirator » Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:16 pm

I am an undergraduate looking for a private student loan of about $5-8000/yr so I can finish the next two years of school. I have minimal federal loans/grants but I need more to cover tuition. I am 20 years old, I am a good student (3.8 GPA) but I have no credit and no cosigner, do I have options? I am not too particular about interest rates at this point, I just need to get a degree. Ideally I would like to get a loan I would not have to start paying back until after graduation as I will be working full time just to pay rent/utilities/food etc... Thanks for any advice
catilineconspirator
New

Re: No-credit/cosigner loans?

Postby Ms. Stafford » Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Hi catilineconspirator, at this point in time with the economy the way it is, I do not know of any private student loans available without a cosigner. There used to be loans like that, but nowadays they are mostly all cosigner mandatory. The Stafford loan amounts may be going up a few thousand dollars next year as well. Also, do you have a parent that had mediocre to poor credit? If you do, and they are willing to apply for a Parent plus loan for you (and get denied), then that would make you eligible for more in the Unsubsidized Stafford loan. You can get up to 6000 more year. Let me know if you have more questions about how that works. Or you can visit this site: http://www.staffordloan.com/stafford-lo ... t-loan.php
Ms. Stafford
Veteran of Financial Aid

Postby catilineconspirator » Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:37 pm

No, the problem is my parents have good credit, they just don't want a loan like that hanging over their heads with the economy the way it is. I'm not sure if I'm considered independent or not, not sure that means anything.
catilineconspirator
New